August 9, 2023 | Car Accident
Have you ever wondered if you need to call the cops if you are involved in a fender bender? When you are in a minor accident that does not result in injuries, major vehicle damage, or other property damage, it may not seem like you need the assistance of the police.
In these circumstances, it may seem like enough to exchange information and leave the scene. After all, if there are no injuries or damage, there likely is no reason to contact your insurance company.
Unfortunately, there are instances where a driver discovers vehicle damage or injuries after leaving the scene – but because they did not file a police report, their insurance company is unable or unwilling to help them recover compensation.
Read on to learn more about what you should do when you are involved in a fender bender in Lexington, KY.
I Was Involved in a Fender Bender in Lexington, What Should I Do?
When you are involved in a fender bender in Lexington, Kentucky, the first thing you should do is get yourself and your vehicle to safety and call the police. Erring on the side of caution in this scenario is in your best interest. This can help you avoid any potential liability, insurance problems, or issues with the law.
Are You Legally Required To Call the Cops for a Fender Bender in Lexington, Kentucky?
According to Kentucky law, you are not legally required to call the cops for a fender bender in Lexington, Kentucky. The statute states that you have to call the police if you are involved in an accident that results in fatal or nonfatal injuries or if the damage caused to the vehicle is so severe that it cannot be driven.
If there is $500 or more worth of damage to a vehicle caused by an accident, you have to file a report of the accident with the Department of Kentucky State Police within 10 days.
If the minor accident that you are involved in does not meet either criteria mentioned above, you are not legally required to call the cops. However, it’s generally still best to call the police to protect your legal rights and interests.
Insurance Requirements for Fender Benders
Kentucky is considered a “choice no-fault” state for car accidents. If you’ve selected “no-fault” coverage, you’ll almost always file a claim with your personal injury protection (PIP) insurance provider after a fender bender car accident. Even in this scenario, however, having a police report can be helpful to ensure the claims process goes as smoothly as possible.
If you’ve chosen to opt out of Kentucky’s “no-fault” rules, having a police report can be even more important. In these circumstances, your best course of action might be to pursue a claim against the driver who caused your accident. A police report will likely be a key component of your claim, at least as far as settlement negotiations go.
I Was Involved in a Fender Bender in Lexington – What Should I Do?
When you are involved in a fender bender, no matter how minor, you should make sure that you are not paying for the other driver’s mistake. An experienced car accident attorney can help you recover damages and advise you on your next best steps.
Most car accident lawyers offer a free consultation, so you can find out whether your case requires the help of an attorney at that time.
Contact Our Car Accident Law Firm in Lexington Today To Get More Information
Minner Vines Moncus Injury Lawyers
325 W Main St #210, Lexington, KY 40507